New Year, New(ish) You

3014

Happy 2014 Everyone!

I hope you all had an amazing NYE. I have to admit I went to bed before the News Years countdown even began, but the night nevertheless was a big reminder of the New Year to come and all the resolutions I should be making. Despite my resentment towards resolutions, I think New Years is a great starting point to begin a new activity or try something new in you’re beauty regime. Here are a few ideas to kick off the New Year that won’t leave you overwhelmed or angry because you won’t be able to break these.

hair

1. Give Yourself a Subtle, Yet Effective Hair Makeover. Try a little change in your hair color or cut. Recently I asked my hair stylist to do something different with my hair. She suggested Ombré. I was very nervous, but was tired with my usual routine so I agreed to it. She simply darkened the top half of my hair to match my natural hair colour and added a few lighter highlights to the bottom. The effect equaled no more roots, which has been an issue for me with keeping lighter hues. I feel like I never have to dye my hair again, which is perfect since I’m trying to grow it long! I commend her for it. Don’t forget to take care of your ends; check out this post on the best hair treatments to try.

Tip: Don’t go overboard. You’ll want to keep your ombré within three shades of each other in order to keep from making a stark (and most likely unflattering) contrast of colour.

workout

2. Get Active. Tired of the gym? Is the notion of New Years resolutions nagging at you to work out more? Switch up your routine. Join a new gym that offers unlimited classes and try each and every class (Boot Camp, Barre Method, Kick-boxing, Hot Yoga…the list goes on). What do you have to lose? Calories? Find what you like best and stick with it for a couple weeks. When you get bored, try focusing on a different class. Cute workout clothes don’t hurt either. Get a new pair of running shoes, a comfortable pair of leggings, and a cute top to complete your look. What more incentive do you need?

glitter-nails

3. Treat Yourself. During the winter, especially in the city, I find I get a little bogged down and stressed out. The weather is cold and dreary, school and work build up, and it seems as if you’ll never catch a break. I like to schedule nights to myself. Know you have a Friday night off? Book a manicure at your favourite salon. Try a new shade. Then go home, make a delicious dinner (or dessert) and pour yourself a glass of wine. Light a candle, and put on your favourite TV Show. Girls is back on so make sure you set your PVRs. Quality you-time is essential. You’re friends will understand.

road trip

4. Explore New Places. I would tell you all to go backpacking for a few months, but some of you either don’t have the time or money to jet off to Europe or some exotic location. Simply planning a weekend road trip with friends to a near-by city is well-worth your time and happiness. Want to visit a few East Coast cities? Check out this chic travel guide that takes you from New York to Boston and Vermont.

smoothie

5. Try a New Healthy Recipe. I recently bought this cookbook (and this one) and cannot wait to try out a few new recipes. We get stuck making the same things over and over because it’s quick and we are busy. Or else we revert to ordering something on the go, which is most likely full of calories. Be Kind to your body and give it the proper nutrients it needs. Check out this post on 25 healthy recipes for the New Year.

home-decor2

6. Makeover Your Space. The New Year inspires many to de-clutter their spaces. If you’re going for the whole fresh start vibe, try revamping your home decor. Little changes such as different colour throw pillows, new coffee table books or wall prints can make a world of difference and can help provide a reminder to look forward to the future and new beginnings.

Hope everyone has an amazing start to 2014.

-Lo

Leave a Reply

