Long Weekend Travel Essentials

Hey Everyone!
Happy Summer! Since it’s officially summer (although not according to Vancouver weather) and it’s the beginning of the long weekend I thought it would be the perfect opportunity to share my travel essentials with you. I was hoping to get away this weekend before I start working full time in an office for the rest of summer (Hello internship with Western Living!), however, I unknowingly booked tickets way back in November for the Taylor Swift concert this Saturday… not that I’m complaining.
Anyway,
If I were to be going to say Palm Springs or the Okanagan this weekend, this is something along the lines of what I would be packing:
Travel Essentials
First and foremost I think summer is the best time to experiment with cute patterns and prints. My personal favourite are stripes, however, I like to try out new colourful prints when the sun comes out. I keep eyeing this banana leaf print at Topshop and think these shorts would go divinely with the pretty eyelet top from Aritzia. When at the pool, go for a bright print such as this floral bikini from TopShop. 
Second, skin care is of the utmost importance (who wants wrinkles?) and the perfect way to get extra coverage is to accessorize! Cover up your face with this seasons Panama hat, like the one from J.crew, and these houndstooth print sunnies by Quay. But just because you look super cute, doesn’t mean you can forget sunblock! Try my favourite skincare brand Philosophy, which provides you with an oil free moisturizer that gives you, not only a rosy glow, but a SPF coverage of 30.
Third, when travelling I like to bring along my IPad, books and old fashion magazines to read by the pool. Dawn this pretty eyelet tote by Tory Burch, which can go on the plane or to the beach. Don’t forget to bring along some fun extras like this Popsicle coin purse and Travelling Journal (to document all the best restaurants and shops, of course) from Kate Spade. 
Finally, at nighttime, I like to keep it casual and comfy. I’m all about relaxation to the max and that means hanging up your heels for the weekend. Put on a comfy Midi dress like this striped one from TopShop and pair it with a flat sandal like this simple black pair by Marais. 
My last travel essential is to just have fun and relax. Try to keep the laptop and cell phone usage to a minimum and simply enjoy yourself!
I hope my travel essentials have inspired you to try new prints this summer. Stay tuned for a post on shopping trip essentials when I go to Chicago next month!
Have a fun and safe long weekend!
-Lo
Leave a Reply

